Source study found
Story checked
Scientists discover strange link between low vitamin D and pain | ScienceDaily (opens in a new tab)
sciencedaily.com · 2026-09-14
Short answer
Mostly not supportedMostly not supported.
One claim goes further than the study. 3 other points were not covered by the paper.
- 1 supported
- 1 overstated
- 3 not covered
Checked against the study summary. The full text wasn't available, so some details couldn't be settled either way.
Share this check
The story
Scientists discover strange link between low vitamin D and pain | ScienceDaily
sciencedaily.com · 2026-09-14
The story’s checkable claims.
Read the original story (opens in a new tab)NewsLink checks it
Mostly not supported
One claim overstates the study. One of five checks out. Three claims the study doesn't address.
- 1 supported
- 1 overstated
- 3 not covered
The source study
Association between preoperative vitamin D level and postoperative pain in patients undergoing breast cancer surgery: a prospective observational study
Evidence layer
Claim by claim
Each claim gets a verdict. Expand it to see the evidence directly below.
Reading mode
Scan verdicts. Open evidence only when needed.
Browse by verdict
5 claims in this storyShowing all 5 claimsChoose a verdict to focus the list.
Claim 1 of 5OverstatedLow vitamin D levels may make recovery from breast cancer surgery more painful and increase the need for opioid painkillers.View evidenceHide evidence
Why this verdict
The paper profile supports an association between vitamin D deficiency and more acute postoperative pain plus greater opioid use. However, the headline-style wording that low vitamin D levels “may make” recovery more painful implies a causal role beyond what this single-center observational cohort can establish. The story body’s caveats appear more cautious than the headline framing.
Study evidence
Vitamin D–deficient patients had a higher occurrence of moderate–severe postoperative pain at 12 hours (NRS >3).
“Association between preoperative vitamin D level and postoperative pain in patients undergoing breast cancer surgery: a prospective observational study”
Study evidence
Vitamin D–deficient patients had higher intraoperative fentanyl consumption compared with vitamin D–sufficient patients.Mean difference 8.04 µg (95% CI 3.21 to 12.88)
“Other secondary outcomes included: ... intraoperative fentanyl consumption, postoperative tramadol consumption, sedation scores, intraoperative and postoperative hemodynamics, patient satisfaction, and hospital stay.”
Claim 2 of 5Not coveredPatients with vitamin D deficiency received slightly more fentanyl during surgery and experienced more postoperative nausea as well.View evidenceHide evidence
As stated8 μg more fentanyl
Why this verdict
The fentanyl part is supported by the abstract profile: vitamin D–deficient patients had higher intraoperative fentanyl consumption by 8.04 µg. However, postoperative nausea is not reported in the supplied abstract-level paper profile, so that part of the claim cannot be verified at this evidence depth.
Study evidence
Vitamin D–deficient patients had higher intraoperative fentanyl consumption compared with vitamin D–sufficient patients.Mean difference 8.04 µg (95% CI 3.21 to 12.88)
“Other secondary outcomes included: ... intraoperative fentanyl consumption, postoperative tramadol consumption, sedation scores, intraoperative and postoperative hemodynamics, patient satisfaction, and hospital stay.”
Claim 3 of 5Not coveredThe researchers said the study cannot prove cause and effect because it was observational and single-center, and they did not measure inflammatory markers or several other potential confounders.View evidenceHide evidence
Why this verdict
The observational, single-center design and inability to prove causation are supported by the profile limitations. But the specific limitations about inflammatory markers and several named potential confounders are not present in the supplied abstract-level profile, which instead notes residual confounding and unspecified adjustment variables. Those details may require full-text evidence.
Study evidence
Vitamin D–deficient patients had a higher occurrence of moderate–severe postoperative pain at 12 hours (NRS >3).
“Association between preoperative vitamin D level and postoperative pain in patients undergoing breast cancer surgery: a prospective observational study”
Study evidence
Vitamin D–deficient patients had higher intraoperative fentanyl consumption compared with vitamin D–sufficient patients.Mean difference 8.04 µg (95% CI 3.21 to 12.88)
“Other secondary outcomes included: ... intraoperative fentanyl consumption, postoperative tramadol consumption, sedation scores, intraoperative and postoperative hemodynamics, patient satisfaction, and hospital stay.”
Claim 4 of 5Not coveredThe researchers concluded that vitamin D deficiency is associated with a higher occurrence of moderate to severe postoperative pain and increased opioid consumption in patients undergoing unilateral modified radical mastectomy, and suggested preoperative vitamin D supplementation may have a role.View evidenceHide evidence
Why this verdict
The association between vitamin D deficiency, higher moderate–severe postoperative pain, and increased opioid consumption is supported by the abstract profile. The added statement that the researchers suggested preoperative vitamin D supplementation may have a role is not present in the supplied abstract-level profile, and the study did not test supplementation as an intervention.
Study evidence
Vitamin D–deficient patients had a higher occurrence of moderate–severe postoperative pain at 12 hours (NRS >3).
“Association between preoperative vitamin D level and postoperative pain in patients undergoing breast cancer surgery: a prospective observational study”
Study evidence
Vitamin D–deficient patients had higher intraoperative fentanyl consumption compared with vitamin D–sufficient patients.Mean difference 8.04 µg (95% CI 3.21 to 12.88)
“Other secondary outcomes included: ... intraoperative fentanyl consumption, postoperative tramadol consumption, sedation scores, intraoperative and postoperative hemodynamics, patient satisfaction, and hospital stay.”
Claim 5 of 5SupportedIn a study of 184 women undergoing mastectomy, patients with vitamin D deficiency were three times more likely to experience moderate to severe pain during the first 24 hours after surgery and also used substantially more tramadol.View evidenceHide evidence
As statedthree times more likely; 112 mg more tramadol stated as substantial
Why this verdict
The abstract profile reports 184 women undergoing unilateral modified radical mastectomy and an adjusted OR of 3.12 for moderate–severe pain at any time in the first 24 hours among vitamin D–deficient patients, which supports the “about three times” association. It also reports greater postoperative tramadol consumption, mean difference 112.17 mg. Strictly, the paper reports an odds ratio rather than a risk ratio, but the claim is broadly aligned with the abstract evidence.
Study evidence
Vitamin D–deficient patients had a higher occurrence of moderate–severe postoperative pain at 12 hours (NRS >3).
“Association between preoperative vitamin D level and postoperative pain in patients undergoing breast cancer surgery: a prospective observational study”
Study evidence
Vitamin D–deficient patients had higher intraoperative fentanyl consumption compared with vitamin D–sufficient patients.Mean difference 8.04 µg (95% CI 3.21 to 12.88)
“Other secondary outcomes included: ... intraoperative fentanyl consumption, postoperative tramadol consumption, sedation scores, intraoperative and postoperative hemodynamics, patient satisfaction, and hospital stay.”
Context layer
What the story left out
Important study details the story did not include.
The abstract profile does not report postoperative nausea results, inflammatory-marker measurement, or the specific named confounders listed by the story.
These story details are not verifiable from the supplied abstract-level paper profile. They may come from full text, but at the requested evidence depth they are not reflected in the paper profile evidence.
6 things the story did carry across
- The paper is a prospective observational, single-center cohort of 184 women undergoing unilateral modified radical mastectomy, grouped by preoperative serum 25(OH)D deficiency versus sufficiency.
- Vitamin D deficiency was associated with moderate–severe postoperative pain during the first 24 hours, with an adjusted OR of 3.12 reported for the 24-hour composite pain outcome.
- Vitamin D–deficient patients had greater opioid consumption, including higher intraoperative fentanyl use and higher postoperative tramadol use.
- The study’s observational design precludes causal inference and leaves potential for residual confounding despite multivariable adjustment and baseline balance.
- The study was conducted at a single center, limiting generalizability.
- The abstract reports only acute postoperative outcomes up to 24 hours; longer-term pain outcomes are not reported at abstract depth.
Study layer
Study at a glance
Scan the study first. Expand only the parts you want to inspect.
Pieces of work
2
Evidence read
study summary
Lead result
human in vivo
1Lead resulthuman in vivoDetermine whether preoperative serum vitamin D deficiency is associated with greater acute postoperative pain after unilateral modified radical mastectomy (eg, moderate–severe pain at 12 hours and within 24 hours).Prospective observational cohortExpandCollapse
In plain English
Prospective observational cohort of 184 women undergoing elective unilateral modified radical mastectomy classified by preoperative serum 25(OH)D (<30 nmol/L vs ≥30 nmol/L). Vitamin D deficiency was associated with a higher occurrence of moderate–severe acute postoperative pain and greater opioid consumption; multivariable analysis showed an adjusted OR 3.12 (95% CI 1.58–6.13) for moderate–severe pain at any time within the first 24 hours. Deficient patients had higher intraoperative fentanyl use and greater postoperative tramadol consumption (mean differences and 95% CIs reported).
Key findings
- Vitamin D–deficient patients had a higher occurrence of moderate–severe postoperative pain at 12 hours (NRS >3).
- Preoperative vitamin D deficiency was independently associated with moderate–severe postoperative pain at any time within the first 24 hours in multivariable analysis.adjusted OR 3.12 (95% CI 1.58 to 6.13)
“Association between preoperative vitamin D level and postoperative pain in patients undergoing breast cancer surgery: a prospective observational study”
What this piece can’t prove
- Single-center study of women undergoing unilateral modified radical mastectomy (limits generalizability).
- Observational cohort design — subject to residual confounding despite multivariable adjustment and reported baseline balance.
2 further details could not be confirmed from the summary.
2human in vivoAssess whether vitamin D deficiency is associated with greater perioperative opioid/analgesic requirements and related perioperative recovery measures (eg, intraoperative fentanyl, postoperative tramadol, sedation, hemodynamics, satisfaction, length of stay).Prospective observational cohortExpandCollapse
In plain English
In a prospective single-center observational cohort of 184 female patients undergoing unilateral modified radical mastectomy (92 vitamin D–deficient [<30 nmol/L] vs 92 vitamin D–sufficient [≥30 nmol/L]), vitamin D deficiency was associated with greater perioperative opioid consumption: a higher intraoperative fentanyl use (mean difference 8.04 µg, 95% CI 3.21 to 12.88) and greater postoperative tramadol use (mean difference 112.17 mg, 95% CI 101.44 to 122.91). The study also measured sedation scores, intra- and postoperative hemodynamics, patient satisfaction, and hospital stay as secondary outcomes, but the abstract reports results only for opioid consumption.
Key findings
- Vitamin D–deficient patients had higher intraoperative fentanyl consumption compared with vitamin D–sufficient patients.Mean difference 8.04 µg (95% CI 3.21 to 12.88)
- Vitamin D–deficient patients had higher postoperative tramadol consumption compared with vitamin D–sufficient patients.Mean difference 112.17 mg (95% CI 101.44 to 122.91)
“Other secondary outcomes included: ... intraoperative fentanyl consumption, postoperative tramadol consumption, sedation scores, intraoperative and postoperative hemodynamics, patient satisfaction, and hospital stay.”
What this piece can’t prove
- Prospective observational single-center study—subject to confounding and limited generalizability.
- Abstract provides limited methodological detail on measurement timing, analgesic protocols, and whether opioid consumption comparisons were adjusted for covariates.
1 further detail could not be confirmed from the summary.
Method layer
NewsLink found the paper. Tessa takes you deeper.
NewsLink checks the story. Tessa is where you inspect the paper, authors, evidence, and research context.
Open the paper in Tessa
Association between preoperative vitamin D level and postoperative pain in patients undergoing breast cancer surgery: a prospective observational study
Regional anesthesia and pain medicine · 2026
Why this one
Near certain
NewsLink found the paper. Tessa is where you inspect it deeply.
Papers considered
The selected paper, plus nearby candidates.
PubMed, Europe PMC, Crossref · 37 candidate papers
Association between preoperative vitamin D level and postoperative pain in patients undergoing breast cancer surgery: a prospective observational study
Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine · 2026 · PubMed, Europe PMC, Crossref
Author's reply to: "Interpreting the link between vitamin D deficiency and postoperative pain after breast cancer surgery".
Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine · 2026 · PubMed, Crossref
My half-century love affair with regional anesthesia: hard lessons from war to microanatomy to acute pain medicine and beyond
Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine · 2026 · Crossref
WARLANT: Wide Awake Regional or Local Anesthesia No Tourniquet
Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine · 2026 · Crossref
2025 Labat lecture: the next paradigm – integrating artificial intelligence and robotics to advance regional anesthesia for patients
Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine · 2026 · Crossref
Ultrasound-guided spinal anesthesia with needle guidance
Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine · 2026 · Crossref
And 31 more candidates considered.