Skip to main content
Tessa NewsLink
Paste a health news link, or browse

Source study found

Story checked

Osteoporosis drugs linked to lower Alzheimer's disease and dementia risk | Fox News (opens in a new tab)

foxnews.com · 2025-11-17

Short answerEvidenceSource

Short answer

Mixed

Mixed.

The claims we could check match the study, but some claims were not covered by the evidence reviewed.

  • 4 supported
  • 2 not covered

Checked against the study summary. The full text wasn't available, so some details couldn't be settled either way.

Share this check

Follow the evidence trail
1
2

NewsLink checks it

Mixed

Every claim we could check holds up. Four of six claims match the study. This overall rating is based only on the claims we could check. Two claims the study doesn't address.

  • 4 supported
  • 2 not covered
Open claim evidence
3
Then inspect each claim

Evidence layer

Claim by claim

Each claim gets a verdict. Expand it to see the evidence directly below.

6 claims in this story

Showing all 6 claimsChoose a verdict to focus the list.

Then look for missing context

Context layer

What the story left out

Important study details the story did not include.

  • Analytic methods: 1:1 time-dependent propensity score matching and Cox proportional hazards models were used to estimate cause-specific hazard ratios.

    The presentation describes the study as large and observational but does not mention the propensity-score matching or Cox time-to-event modeling used in the paper.

    From Retrospective population-based cohort; time-dependent propensity score matched analysis; Cox cause-specific hazards

  • Matched cohort sizes: 10,833 NBP-vs-untreated matched pairs and 3,080 NBP-vs-non-NBP matched pairs.

    The story reports the overall sample size of 121,492 but does not report the matched-pair sample sizes from which the key hazard-ratio comparisons were estimated.

    From Retrospective population-based cohort; time-dependent propensity score matched analysis; Cox cause-specific hazards

  • Secondary decision metrics: the paper reports absolute risk reductions of 0.007, 0.018, and 0.021 at 1, 3, and 5 years, with corresponding NNTs of 133, 56, and 48.

    The presentation focuses on relative lower-risk estimates and does not mention the paper’s absolute risk reduction or number-needed-to-treat results.

    From Secondary analytic output from time-dependent propensity-score matched observational cohorts

  • Limitation of the secondary ARR/NNT metrics: the abstract profile does not specify which comparator the ARRs/NNTs refer to or the detailed computation/handling of censoring.

    Because the story does not report the ARR/NNT metrics, it also does not discuss these abstract-level limitations of those secondary estimates.

    From Secondary analytic output from time-dependent propensity-score matched observational cohorts

7 things the story did carry across
  • Primary paper question: whether nitrogen-containing bisphosphonate use is associated with reduced Alzheimer’s disease and related dementia risk among adults aged 60+ with osteoporosis or fragility fracture in Hong Kong.
  • Study design: retrospective population-based healthcare-database cohort, i.e. observational rather than randomized or experimental.
  • Comparators: NBP users were compared with untreated patients and with users of other non-NBP anti-osteoporosis medications.
  • Main result versus untreated patients: NBP use was associated with lower ADRD incidence, HR 0.84 with 95% CI 0.78–0.90.
  • Main result versus non-NBP anti-osteoporosis medication users: NBP use was associated with lower ADRD incidence, HR 0.76 with 95% CI 0.66–0.89.
  • Interpretation limitation: estimates come from observational matched cohorts and may be affected by residual confounding rather than proving causality.
  • Paper-level recommendation: the authors suggest further study of NBPs given the observed association and potential repurposing relevance.
Then read the study layer

Study layer

Study at a glance

Scan the study first. Expand only the parts you want to inspect.

Pieces of work

2

Evidence read

study summary

Lead result

secondary data

1Lead resultsecondary dataEstimate whether nitrogen-containing bisphosphonate (NBP) use is associated with reduced risk of Alzheimer’s disease and related dementia (ADRD) among adults ≥60 with osteoporosis or fragility fracture in Hong Kong.Retrospective population-based cohort; time-dependent propensity score matched analysis; Cox cause-specific hazardsExpand

In plain English

Retrospective population-based cohort study of adults aged ≥60 with osteoporosis or fragility fracture in a Hong Kong healthcare database (2005–2020), comparing nitrogen-containing bisphosphonate (NBP) users to untreated patients and to users of non-NBP anti-osteoporosis medications using 1:1 time-dependent propensity score matching. Follow-up continued to December 31, 2021. In matched analyses, NBP use was associated with lower incidence of Alzheimer’s disease and related dementia (ADRD): vs untreated HR 0.84 (95% CI 0.78–0.90) and vs non-NBPs HR 0.76 (95% CI 0.66–0.89). The authors report absolute risk reductions of 0.007, 0.018, and 0.021 at 1, 3, and 5 years (NNTs 133, 56, and 48). The manuscript concludes that NBP use was associated with lower risk of ADRD and suggests further study.

Key findings

  • In time-dependent propensity score–matched cohorts, NBP use was associated with lower incidence of Alzheimer’s disease and related dementia compared with untreated patients.HR 0.84 (95% CI 0.78–0.90)
  • In matched analyses, NBP use was associated with lower ADRD incidence compared with users of non-NBP anti-osteoporosis medications.HR 0.76 (95% CI 0.66–0.89)
“We identified patients aged 60+ with osteoporosis or fragility fracture in 2005-2020 from a healthcare database in Hong Kong.”
2secondary dataQuantify absolute risk reductions and number-needed-to-treat (NNT) over 1, 3, and 5 years for NBP use versus comparator groups.Secondary analytic output from time-dependent propensity-score matched observational cohortsExpand

In plain English

The abstract reports absolute risk reductions (ARR) of 0.007, 0.018, and 0.021 at 1, 3, and 5 years and corresponding NNTs of 133, 56, and 48 for nitrogen-containing bisphosphonate (NBP) use; these quantities are presented as derived from the matched observational cohort analyses.

Key findings

  • Abstract reports absolute risk reductions for ADRD associated with NBP use of 0.007, 0.018, and 0.021 at 1, 3, and 5 years respectively, and corresponding NNTs of 133, 56, and 48.ARR = 0.007 (1 yr); 0.018 (3 yr); 0.021 (5 yr). NNT = 133 (1 yr); 56 (3 yr); 48 (5 yr).
“NBPs resulted in an absolute risk reduction of 0.007, 0.018, and 0.021 at 1, 3, and 5 years, respectively.”
What this piece can’t prove
  • The abstract does not specify the exact comparator for the reported ARRs/NNTs (untreated vs non-NBP).
  • These metrics are derived from observational matched cohorts; potential residual confounding and censoring assumptions could affect the reported ARRs and NNTs.

1 further detail could not be confirmed from the summary.

Finally, the search trail

Method layer

NewsLink found the paper. Tessa takes you deeper.

NewsLink checks the story. Tessa is where you inspect the paper, authors, evidence, and research context.

Papers considered

The selected paper, plus nearby candidates.

PubMed, Europe PMC, Crossref · 15 candidate papers

SelectedOpen access

Bisphosphonates and the risk of dementia in patients with osteoporosis or fragility fracture: A population-based study in Hong Kong.

Alzheimer's & Dementia : the Journal of the Alzheimer's Association · 2025 · PubMed, Europe PMC, Crossref

Candidate

Nitrogen-containing bisphosphonate was associated with a lower risk of dementia in patients with fragility fractures: A population-based cohort study in Hong Kong

Osteoporosis and Sarcopenia · 2023 · Crossref

And 9 more candidates considered.