Skip to main content
Tessa NewsLink
Paste a health news link, or browse

Source study found

Story checked

Kangaroo care helps smaller babies. Now researchers are studying babies born at normal weight (opens in a new tab)

news-medical.net · 2026-09-27

Short answerEvidenceSource

Short answer

Mixed

Mixed.

The claims we could check match the study, but some claims were not covered by the evidence reviewed.

  • 3 supported
  • 2 not covered

Checked against the study summary. The full text wasn't available, so some details couldn't be settled either way.

Share this check

Follow the evidence trail
1
2

NewsLink checks it

Mixed

Every claim we could check holds up. Three of five claims match the study. This overall rating is based only on the claims we could check. Two claims the study doesn't address.

  • 3 supported
  • 2 not covered
Open claim evidence
3
Then inspect each claim

Evidence layer

Claim by claim

Each claim gets a verdict. Expand it to see the evidence directly below.

5 claims in this story

Showing all 5 claimsChoose a verdict to focus the list.

Then look for missing context

Context layer

What the story left out

Important study details the story did not include.

  • At abstract depth, detailed measurement instruments, exact timepoints, and power for some secondary outcomes are not specified.

    The story mentions 'other maternal and newborn outcomes' but does not flag that, in the abstract-level evidence, operational details and power for secondary endpoints are not specified. This matters for interpreting broad claims about secondary maternal and newborn outcomes.

    From Multicentre individually randomised controlled trial; secondary outcomes measured as trial endpoints

9 things the story did carry across
  • The paper is a trial protocol and reports no trial outcome results or effect estimates.
  • The main planned study is a multicentre, individually randomised, open-label superiority RCT of prolonged KMC versus usual/minimum care.
  • The intervention is prolonged KMC/skin-to-skin contact during the first 72 hours, defined as at least 8 hours per day with exclusive breastfeeding in the KMC position.
  • The target population is healthy singleton newborns with birth weight ≥2500 g after uncomplicated vaginal delivery in three public facilities in Uttar Pradesh, India.
  • Primary outcomes are percent weight loss at 48 hours, weight gain velocity up to 28 days, and moderate-to-poor breastfeeding quality by BBAT at 7 completed days.
  • Secondary outcomes include exclusive breastfeeding rates, maternal breastfeeding experience, possible serious bacterial infection, maternal depression, and maternal–infant bonding.
  • The trial is open-label, which may affect participant behavior or measurement, especially for subjective outcomes.
  • Generalizability is limited by eligibility restrictions and setting: healthy normal-birthweight singleton infants after uncomplicated vaginal deliveries, conducted in three public facilities in one Indian state.
  • The paper’s evidence is limited to planned early outcomes through roughly 48 hours, 7 days, and 28 days; longer-term effects are not reported in this protocol profile.
Then read the study layer

Study layer

Study at a glance

Scan the study first. Expand only the parts you want to inspect.

Pieces of work

3

Evidence read

study summary

Lead result

human in vivo

1Lead resulthuman in vivoEvaluate whether providing prolonged Kangaroo Mother Care (≥8 hours/day skin-to-skin contact with exclusive breastfeeding in KMC position) during the first 72 hours after birth improves early growth (weight loss at 48h; weight gain velocity to 28d) and breastfeeding quality in normal birthweight newborns compared with usual care.Multicentre individually randomised open-label superiority RCT (site-stratified)Expand

In plain English

Protocol for a multicentre, individually randomised, open-label superiority trial evaluating whether prolonged Kangaroo Mother Care (KMC: ≥8 hours/day skin-to-skin contact with exclusive breastfeeding in the KMC position) during the first 72 hours after birth affects early weight loss (percent weight loss at 48 h), weight gain velocity to 28 days, and breastfeeding quality at day 7 in healthy, normal birthweight (≥2500 g) singleton newborns compared with usual care.

Key findings

  • No trial results reported—this publication is the trial protocol. It specifies planned primary outcomes (48 h percent weight loss; weight gain velocity to 28 days; breastfeeding quality at day 7) and the intervention/control definitions and analysis plan.
“protocol for a randomised controlled trial”
What this piece can’t prove
  • This record is a protocol; no trial results or effect estimates are available in the paper.
  • Trial is open-label as described in the protocol.
2human in vivoAssess effects of early prolonged KMC on secondary maternal and infant outcomes (eg, exclusive breastfeeding rates, maternal breastfeeding experience, possible serious bacterial infection, maternal depression, maternal–infant bonding).Multicentre individually randomised controlled trial; secondary outcomes measured as trial endpointsExpand

In plain English

This is a protocol for a multicentre, individually randomised, open‑label superiority trial (n=516 dyads) testing prolonged Kangaroo Mother Care (≥8 h/day SSC with exclusive breastfeeding in KMC position for first 72 hours) versus usual care with a common minimum care package. The protocol specifies that secondary outcomes to be measured in the same randomized dyads include exclusive breastfeeding rates, maternal breastfeeding experience, incidence of possible serious bacterial infection, maternal depression, and maternal–infant bonding. No outcome data or effect estimates are reported in the abstract.

Key findings

  • The trial protocol specifies that exclusive breastfeeding rates will be measured as a secondary outcome in the same randomized dyads.
  • Maternal breastfeeding experience is listed as a secondary outcome to be collected in enrolled dyads.
“Secondary outcomes include exclusive breastfeeding rates, maternal breastfeeding experience, incidence of possible serious bacterial infection, maternal depression and maternal-infant bonding.”
What this piece can’t prove
  • The abstract does not specify measurement instruments, exact timepoints, or operational definitions for the listed secondary outcomes.
  • Open‑label design may introduce bias for subjective, self‑reported secondary outcomes (e.g., breastfeeding experience, depression, bonding).
  • Abstract does not present sample size calculations or power estimates specific to secondary outcomes, so it is unclear whether the trial is powered to detect effects on these endpoints.

1 further detail could not be confirmed from the summary.

3otherProvide a multicentre RCT protocol and analysis plan for early prolonged KMC in healthy term/normal birthweight infants in public facilities in Uttar Pradesh, India (including procedures, data collection, statistical models, and dissemination/data-sharing plan).Multicentre individually randomised open-label superiority trial protocolExpand

In plain English

Protocol for a multicentre, individually randomised, open-label superiority trial (n=516) in three public facilities in Uttar Pradesh, India, evaluating prolonged Kangaroo Mother Care (≥8 h/day SSC with exclusive breastfeeding in KMC position for first 72 hours) versus standard care (both groups receive minimum care package including uninterrupted SSC in first hour). Primary outcomes are mean % weight loss at 48 h, weight gain velocity to 28 days, and proportion with moderate-to-poor breastfeeding quality (Bristol Breastfeeding Assessment Tool <7) at 7 days. Trial registration, ethics approvals, informed consent plan, electronic data collection with quality control, prespecified mixed-effects modelling analysis, and open-data/dissemination plans are reported.

Key findings

  • This paper is a trial protocol describing a planned multicentre, individually randomised, open-label superiority RCT (n=516) testing prolonged KMC during the first 72 hours in healthy term/normal birthweight infants in three public facilities in Uttar Pradesh, India.
  • The protocol specifies three primary outcomes to assess early growth and breastfeeding: mean percentage weight loss at 48 h; weight gain velocity to 28 days; and proportion with moderate-to-poor breastfeeding quality (Bristol tool <7) at 7 days, with prespecified mixed-effects modelling analysis on an intention-to-treat basis.
“TRIAL REGISTRATION NUMBER: CTRI/2024/01/062057.”
What this piece can’t prove
  • Open-label design is specified (no participant blinding reported).
  • Eligibility restricted to healthy singleton newborns ≥2500 g born by uncomplicated vaginal delivery, which may limit generalisability to other birth types or higher-risk infants.
  • Conducted in three public facilities in a single Indian state (Uttar Pradesh), limiting geographic/general population representativeness.

1 further detail could not be confirmed from the summary.

Finally, the search trail

Method layer

NewsLink found the paper. Tessa takes you deeper.

NewsLink checks the story. Tessa is where you inspect the paper, authors, evidence, and research context.

Papers considered

The selected paper, plus nearby candidates.

PubMed, Europe PMC, Crossref · 33 candidate papers

CandidateOpen access

Accuracy of splenic stiffness measurement for predicting clinically significant varices in children with portal hypertension: a systematic review and diagnostic test accuracy meta-analysis

BMJ Open Gastroenterology · 2026 · Europe PMC, Crossref

And 27 more candidates considered.