Source study found
Story checked
FDA Approves mFlusiva, the First mRNA Flu Vaccine for Older Adults (opens in a new tab)
webmd.com · 2026-08-07
Short answer
Not supportedNot supported.
The study does not answer the story's main claims.
- 6 not covered
Checked against the study summary. The full text wasn't available, so some details couldn't be settled either way.
Share this check
The story
FDA Approves mFlusiva, the First mRNA Flu Vaccine for Older Adults
webmd.com · 2026-08-07
The story’s checkable claims.
Read the original story (opens in a new tab)NewsLink checks it
Not supported
The study doesn't address any of the story's claims. We found the paper, but it doesn't report the details the story leads with.
- 6 not covered
The source study
Efficacy and Safety of an mRNA Seasonal Influenza Vaccine in Adults.
Evidence layer
Claim by claim
Each claim gets a verdict. Expand it to see the evidence directly below.
Reading mode
Scan verdicts. Open evidence only when needed.
Browse by verdict
6 claims in this storyShowing all 6 claimsChoose a verdict to focus the list.
Claim 1 of 6Not coveredThe FDA approved mFlusiva to help prevent the flu in adults ages 50 and older.View evidenceHide evidence
Why this verdict
The abstract-level paper profile supports that mRNA-1010 reduced RT-PCR-confirmed, protocol-defined influenza-like illness in adults ≥50 versus a licensed standard-dose comparator. However, it does not verify FDA approval, the brand name mFlusiva, or the labeled indication. The lead regulatory framing therefore goes beyond what can be verified from the supplied abstract profile.
Study evidence
mRNA-1010 reduced RT-PCR–confirmed, protocol-defined influenza-like illness compared with a licensed standard-dose comparator in adults ≥50 years during the influenza season.26.6% (95% CI, 16.7 to 35.4)
“In this phase 3, double-blind, active-controlled trial, we randomly assigned adults 50 years of age or older to receive trivalent mRNA-1010 ... or a licensed standard-dose comparator.”
Claim 2 of 6Not coveredmFlusiva is described as the first messenger RNA (mRNA) vaccine approved for seasonal flu.View evidenceHide evidence
Why this verdict
The supplied paper profile describes an investigational trivalent mRNA influenza vaccine studied in a phase 3 trial. It does not state that the product was approved, branded as mFlusiva, or the first mRNA vaccine approved for seasonal flu.
Claim 3 of 6Not coveredThe FDA approval was based on a large main study of 40,805 adults ages 50 and older in which half received mFlusiva and half received a standard flu shot; mFlusiva was reported to prevent flu illness better than the standard shot, with about 2% versus 2.8% getting flu.View evidenceHide evidence
As statedabout 2% vs 2.8%
Why this verdict
The main trial details are largely supported: adults ≥50 were randomized to mRNA-1010 or a licensed standard-dose comparator, with illness in about 2.0% versus 2.8% and relative vaccine efficacy favoring mRNA-1010. The abstract profile reports about 40,703 vaccinated participants rather than 40,805. More importantly, the claim that FDA approval was based on this study is a regulatory-basis statement not verified in the abstract profile.
Study evidence
mRNA-1010 reduced RT-PCR–confirmed, protocol-defined influenza-like illness compared with a licensed standard-dose comparator in adults ≥50 years during the influenza season.26.6% (95% CI, 16.7 to 35.4)
“In this phase 3, double-blind, active-controlled trial, we randomly assigned adults 50 years of age or older to receive trivalent mRNA-1010 ... or a licensed standard-dose comparator.”
Claim 4 of 6Not coveredFor adults 65 and older, approval was granted under an accelerated pathway based on immune response data from a study of 2,991 adults in which mFlusiva triggered a stronger antibody response than a high-dose flu shot.View evidenceHide evidence
Why this verdict
The supplied paper profile contains no abstract-level evidence about an accelerated approval pathway for adults ≥65, a separate 2,991-person immune-response study, or comparison with a high-dose flu shot. The profiled study was a clinical efficacy trial in adults ≥50 against a standard-dose comparator.
Claim 5 of 6Not coveredThe article says a future trial will confirm the clinical benefits of mFlusiva in adults 65 and older.View evidenceHide evidence
Why this verdict
The abstract profile does not mention a future confirmatory trial for adults ≥65 or any planned study to confirm clinical benefit in that subgroup. The wording 'will confirm' is also stronger than an evidence-based statement that a future trial would assess or test clinical benefit.
Claim 6 of 6Not coveredThe article says mFlusiva is given as a single shot into the muscle of the arm, with common side effects including injection-site pain, tiredness, headache, muscle pain, joint pain, chills, and underarm swelling or tenderness, and that most side effects are mild to moderate and resolve within two days.View evidenceHide evidence
As statedwithin two days
Why this verdict
The profile supports some safety content: injection-site pain, fatigue, headache, and myalgia were more frequent with mRNA-1010, and most solicited reactions were mild-to-moderate and transient. But the abstract profile does not verify single-shot intramuscular administration in the arm, several listed reactions such as joint pain, chills, or underarm swelling/tenderness, or the specific claim that most side effects resolve within two days.
Study evidence
Solicited local and systemic adverse reactions were more frequent with mRNA-1010 than with the standard-dose comparator (examples: injection-site pain 65.8% vs 29.8%; fatigue 45.1% vs 20.3%; headache 37.8% vs 18.0%; myalgia 35.4% vs 11.6%).percentages reported per event (see text)
“Solicited adverse reactions were more frequent with mRNA-1010 than with the standard-dose comparator”
Context layer
What the story left out
Important study details the story did not include.
Primary efficacy endpoint was RT-PCR-confirmed, protocol-defined influenza-like illness caused by influenza A or B from at least 14 days after vaccination through the end of one influenza season.
The story simplifies the outcome to flu illness/prevention and does not convey the RT-PCR-confirmed, protocol-defined endpoint, the ≥14-day post-vaccination start, or the through-season follow-up window. These details materially narrow what the trial measured.
From Phase 3 randomized double-blind active-controlled trial
Serious adverse events occurred in 2.2% of mRNA-1010 recipients and 1.9% of comparator recipients; three versus two events were judged vaccine-related.
The story mentions precautions such as severe allergic reactions and Guillain-Barré syndrome discussions, but it does not report the trial’s serious-adverse-event rates or investigator-attributed vaccine-related SAE counts.
From Phase 3 randomized, double-blind, active-controlled trial
Safety limitation: the abstract lacks granular safety details such as solicitation windows, grading criteria, SAE types and timing, and independent adjudication details.
The story presents a relatively specific side-effect duration and expanded side-effect list, but it does not acknowledge that the abstract profile lacks the granular safety information needed to verify those specifics.
From Phase 3 randomized, double-blind, active-controlled trial
3 things the story did carry across
- Phase 3 randomized, double-blind, active-controlled trial in adults ≥50 comparing trivalent mRNA-1010 with a licensed standard-dose influenza vaccine comparator.
- Efficacy result: 411/20,179 (2.0%) mRNA-1010 recipients versus 557/20,124 (2.8%) comparator recipients developed RT-PCR-confirmed protocol-defined influenza-like illness; relative vaccine efficacy was 26.6% with a 95% CI of 16.7 to 35.4.
- Solicited local and systemic adverse reactions were more frequent with mRNA-1010 than with the standard-dose comparator; examples include injection-site pain, fatigue, headache, and myalgia, mostly mild-to-moderate and transient.
Study layer
Study at a glance
Scan the study first. Expand only the parts you want to inspect.
Pieces of work
2
Evidence read
study summary
Lead result
human in vivo
1Lead resulthuman in vivoDetermine the clinical efficacy of the investigational trivalent mRNA influenza vaccine (mRNA-1010) versus a licensed standard-dose comparator in preventing RT-PCR–confirmed, protocol-defined influenza-like illness in adults ≥50 years through an influenza season.Phase 3 randomized double-blind active-controlled trialExpandCollapse
In plain English
Phase 3, double-blind, randomized, active-controlled trial in adults ≥50 years comparing trivalent mRNA-1010 (37.5 μg; 12.5 μg per strain) with a licensed standard-dose influenza vaccine. Primary endpoint was relative vaccine efficacy against RT-PCR–confirmed, protocol-defined influenza-like illness (influenza A or B) from ≥14 days after vaccination through the end of the influenza season. Among ~40,703 vaccinated participants (mRNA-1010, n=20,350; comparator, n=20,353; median follow-up 181 days), RT-PCR–confirmed illness occurred in 411/20,179 (2.0%) mRNA-1010 recipients and 557/20,124 (2.8%) comparator recipients, corresponding to a relative vaccine efficacy of 26.6% (95% CI, 16.7 to 35.4), meeting prespecified hierarchical criteria for noninferiority, superiority, and higher-level superiority. Solicited local and systemic reactions were more frequent with mRNA-1010 (e.g., injection-site pain 65.8% vs. 29.8%; fatigue 45.1% vs. 20.3%; headache 37.8% vs. 18.0%; myalgia 35.4% vs. 11.6%), mostly mild-to-moderate and transient. Serious adverse events occurred in 2.2% of mRNA-1010 recipients (three events deemed vaccine-related) and 1.9% of comparator recipients (two events deemed vaccine-related).
Key findings
- mRNA-1010 reduced RT-PCR–confirmed, protocol-defined influenza-like illness compared with a licensed standard-dose comparator in adults ≥50 years during the influenza season.26.6% (95% CI, 16.7 to 35.4)
- mRNA-1010 had higher frequencies of solicited local and systemic adverse reactions than the standard-dose comparator; most reactions were mild-to-moderate and transient. Serious adverse events occurred at similar low frequencies between groups.
“In this phase 3, double-blind, active-controlled trial, we randomly assigned adults 50 years of age or older to receive trivalent mRNA-1010 ... or a licensed standard-dose comparator.”
What this piece can’t prove
- Findings are specific to adults 50 years of age or older enrolled in this trial.
- Efficacy was assessed over a single influenza season (time at risk defined as ≥14 days post-vaccination through season end); durability beyond the season not reported in abstract.
- Trial was funded by Blackstone Life Sciences and Moderna (reported in abstract).
1 further detail could not be confirmed from the summary.
2human in vivoCharacterize and compare the safety/reactogenicity profile of mRNA-1010 versus a licensed standard-dose comparator in adults ≥50 years (solicited adverse reactions and serious adverse events).Phase 3 randomized, double-blind, active-controlled trialExpandCollapse
In plain English
In this phase 3 randomized, double-blind, active-controlled trial in adults ≥50 years, solicited local and systemic adverse reactions were reported more frequently with the investigational trivalent mRNA-1010 (37.5 μg) than with a licensed standard-dose comparator; most solicited reactions were described as mild-to-moderate and transient. Serious adverse events (SAEs) occurred in 2.2% of mRNA-1010 recipients and 1.9% of comparator recipients; investigators judged three SAEs in the mRNA-1010 group and two SAEs in the comparator group to be vaccine-related.
Key findings
- Solicited local and systemic adverse reactions were more frequent with mRNA-1010 than with the standard-dose comparator (examples: injection-site pain 65.8% vs 29.8%; fatigue 45.1% vs 20.3%; headache 37.8% vs 18.0%; myalgia 35.4% vs 11.6%).percentages reported per event (see text)
- Serious adverse events were reported in 2.2% of mRNA-1010 recipients and 1.9% of standard-dose comparator recipients; investigators considered three SAEs in the mRNA-1010 group and two SAEs in the comparator group to be vaccine-related.2.2% vs 1.9%
“Solicited adverse reactions were more frequent with mRNA-1010 than with the standard-dose comparator”
What this piece can’t prove
3 further details could not be confirmed from the summary.
Method layer
NewsLink found the paper. Tessa takes you deeper.
NewsLink checks the story. Tessa is where you inspect the paper, authors, evidence, and research context.
Open the paper in Tessa
Efficacy and Safety of an mRNA Seasonal Influenza Vaccine in Adults.
The New England journal of medicine · 2026
Why this one
Confident
NewsLink found the paper. Tessa is where you inspect it deeply.
Papers considered
The selected paper, plus nearby candidates.
PubMed, Europe PMC, Crossref · 15 candidate papers
Efficacy and Safety of an mRNA Seasonal Influenza Vaccine in Adults.
The New England Journal of Medicine · 2026 · PubMed
mRNA-based seasonal influenza vaccines: an overview of immunogenicity, efficacy, and safety.
Frontiers in Immunology · 2026 · PubMed, Europe PMC
Decision letter for "Burden of severe illness associated with laboratory confirmed influenza in adults aged 50–64 years: A rapid review"
2021 · Crossref
mRNA-1010 and the Future of Seasonal Influenza Prevention: Towards Next-Generation Respiratory Vaccination.
Vaccines · 2026 · PubMed, Europe PMC
Estimating the Relative Vaccine Efficacy of mRNA-1010 to High-Dose Influenza Vaccine in Adults ≥65 Years Using a Correlate of Protection Framework.
Vaccines · 2026 · PubMed, Europe PMC
Burden of severe illness associated with laboratory confirmed influenza in adults aged 50-64 years: a rapid review
2021 · Crossref
And 9 more candidates considered.